Featured member

Member Spotlight 

    April Cook:  2020 CIC-SHRM HR Professional of the Year


April has been a professional in the Human Resource field for over 25 years. During her career she has been active both as an advocate for the CIC-SHRM chapter as well as an award-winning professional in her role of Human Resources Business Partner at AT&T.  Her commitment to the CIC-SHRM Chapter has included serving on the Board as Secretary, Vice-President, and Membership Chair.  April’s committee work has included participating in CIC-SHRM's recognition and membership committees.  In her HR role at ATT, April has received two company awards. She received the Rave Award for her outstanding leadership as a chair of the national election committee for Women of ATT.  Recently, April was awarded AT&T Service Excellence Award. This award is presented to an elite group of employees who Serve Customers First by finding empathetic solutions to problems, keeping things simple and approaching every interaction with passion and pride.     While these commitments and accomplishments are representative of April’s investment to best practices in HR, what sets her apart is her unique ability to work with a quiet steady strength.  April is always approachable, she is always ready with ideas, and listens to problem solve.   April exemplifies what human resource professionalism strives to be and is worthy of the CIC-SHRM Human Resource Professional Award.

The HR Professional of the Year is presented to an individual who has demonstrated involvement and commitment to the HR profession, volunteered in the community in helping to move the profession forward, and exhibited exemplary performance in their Human Resources position.



Do you have someone you'd like to nominate for a CIC-SHRM Member Spotlight?  

Contact CIC-SHRM today! 



Archived Member Spotlights

Ralph Hill, February 2019 


Nominate Recipients for the Annual CIC-SHRM Awards!

Submit nominations for HR Professional Award, HR Champion Award, and Diversity and Inclusion Award.

HR Professional Award

Think of a member who embraces HR, is engaged in the profession, and has made an impact to our organization, the profession, and/or the community.  It can be someone that never says no when asked to help CIC-SHRM. It can be a past board member or someone that exemplifies the profession of HR.


HR Champion

Think of a company or organization within the community that has been able to lead through effective human resources policies and procedures and has demonstrated to employees that they are valued and supported.  Overall, an organization that is a true champion of the profession.


Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award

It can be a member or an organization that has a CIC-SHRM member that has truly embraced Diversity and Inclusion in their culture. 

Previous Award Winners 

HR Professionals of the Year

2020: April Cook, AT&T

2019: Ginette Comstock, Manpower

2018: Anne Godman, MacMurray College

2017:  Ralph Hill, Archer Coal, Viper Mine

2016:  Jill Steiner, SPHR, SHRM-CP, YMCA

2015:  Mary Curl

2014:  Kevin Epley, SPHR, SHRM-CP

2013:  Vicky Fowler

2012:  Jean Campbell, Alice Campbell Staffing

2011:   Dr. Dyanne Ferk, PhD., SPHR, College of Business & Management, University of Illinois Springfield

2010:  Pattie Curry, ILMO Products Company

2009:  Kim Wonnell,  Land of Lincoln Goodwill Industries, Inc.

2008:  Nicole Ralph, Lincoln Land Community College

2007:  Dave Ryan, SPHR, SHRM-CP, Mel-O-Cream Donuts International, Inc.

2006:  Kat Titchenal

2005: Donna Rogers, SPHR, SHRM-CP, Donna Rogers Consulting 

Workplace Diversity Award

2020: Esther Doe, Land of Lincoln Goodwill Industries

2018: Stephanie William, Springfield Electric

2014:   Jill Steiner, YMCA

2011:  Kim Wonnell, Land of Lincoln Goodwill Industries




















Lifetime Achievement Award

2020: Jean Campbell, Alice Campbell Staffing

2019: Ralph Hill, Arch Coal

2013: Dave Ryan, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, Mel-O-Cream Donuts International, Inc.

2011: Penny McCarty,  SPHR, SIU School of Medicine

2010: Junell Randsell, Lincoln Land Community College

2009: Donna Rogers, SPHR, SHRM-CP, Donna Rogers Consulting 

2008: Kay Titchenal

2007: Larry Small 






HR Champion

2020: Manpower

2019: Illinois Worknet, Diane Murphy

2018: HSHS Medical Group

2017: Memorial Health System

2016:  Bank of Springfield

2015:  Brown, Hay & Stephens

2014:  Sikich, LLC

2013:  Alice Campbell Staffing

2012:  Pam Speer, Associate Provost, SIU School of Medicine

2011:  Linda Standley, CEO, ILMO Products 

2010:  Don Darnell, Executive Director, YMCA

2009:  Brad Wike, Peerless Cleaners

2008:  Harold Wimmer, American Lung Association

2006:  Dave Waltrip, Mel-O-Cream Donuts, International, Inc.

2005:  Shawn Faloon, Springfield Pepsi 







CIC-SHRM is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. PO Box 2938 Springfield, IL 62701

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software